Sonic Attack 231


  1. The Obsessed – Sodden Jackal – Sacred
  2. Briqueville – AKTE V – II
  3. Bloodmoon – Nothing Is Special, Nobody Cares – Split
  4. Unsane – Factory – Sterilize
  5. Loincloth – Poroths – Psalm Of The Morbid Whore
  6. Trapped Within Burning Machinery – Abysswalker – Split
  7. Unsane – Distance – Sterilize
  8. Loincloth – Let The Snakes Decide – Psalm Of The Morbid Whore
  9. The Obsessed – Razor Wire – Sacred

The Grind


Unsane have let loose an impressive new track “The Grind” from the incoming eighth LP, Sterilize (Southern Lord, 29th Sept). About the track, Unsane guitarist/vocalist Chris Spencer says, “This is the drum crusher we’ve been looking forward to doing live! A song about living to the fullest while you’ve got the chance”.

“The Grind” is now available at Spotify, iTunes, and Apple Music or indeed via Bandcamp

Unsane are heading to Europe on a tour that spans over a month, running from October 5th through November 7th, including the recently announced Southern Lord label showcase in Amsterdam on October 29th alongside Magma, Sunn O))), Okkultokrati, Wolfbrigade, Circle, Big|Brave, and Vitamin X.  Unfortunately there is only one UK date which is at The Dome in London on October 16th.

(photo credit: Dan Joeright)


Southern Lord have confirmed their new partnership with legendary New York City-based noise rock group Unsane, for the early Autumn release of their eighth studio full-length, Sterilize. The album closes a five-year gap since the 2012 release of their Wreck LP through Alternative Tentacles.

Southern Lord indicate that the new release… “recalls the most defining elements of the band’s seminal Scattered, Smothered, And Covered and Occupational Hazard albums, surging with the band’s unrelenting singular sound created by guitarist/vocalist Chris Spencer, bassist/vocalist Dave Curran, and drummer Vinnie Signorelli. Sterilize showcases the group sounding as dense and damaging as ever, and sees them remaining as necessary as ever, nearly three decades since they began”.

Since 1988, Unsane has been delivering caustic grooves and foundation-crumbling riffs. As a power trio, they honed in on their hammering, power-press rhythm section, searing Telecaster howl, and distorted vocals. The band’s gnarled blend of punk, metal, noise, and hardcore assisted in pioneering a more aggressive, less studied version of noise rock, one that blended the scum/art industrial sturm und drang of Foetus, the Swans, Einsturzende Neubauten, and Sonic Youth with a decidedly more straightforward hardcore idiom. While developing the blueprint for noise bands to follow, Unsane cut a remarkable swath through underground music, inspiring a devoted, cult-like following around the globe, and helped to define the “AmRep sound” alongside other forerunners of the style, Today Is The Day, The Jesus Lizard, Helmet, Tad, Cows, Halo Of Flies, and Melvins.

Advancing the release of Sterilize, Unsane has announced a run of US tour dates from July 15th through August 3rd, booked around the band’s performance at AmRep Bash 17 in Minneapolis, with Fashion Week providing support for the trek. Additional tour dates through the release of the new album are to be expected.

Sterilize was produced by Unsane, recorded by Dave Curran at Gatos Trail Studios in Yucca Valley, California, mixed by Andrew Schneider at Acre in New York City, and mastered by Carl Saff at Saff Mastering in Chicago. Southern Lord will release Sterilize on September 29th, 2017. I’m hoping to get a preview copy for airing in due course.

(photo credit: Dan Joeright)