Sonic Attack 193


  1. Lo Pan – Go West – In Tensions
  2. Messa – Blood – Marijuanaut Vol III.
  3. Bill + Phill – Dirty Eye – Songs Of Darkness And Despair
  4. Otus – Theta Synchrony – Marijuanaut Vol III.
  5. Snow Burial – Heliscape – Victory In Ruin
  6. Woodwall – Miracle Blood – Marijuanaut Vol III.
  7. SEE? – SEE1 – Lighteninging On Your Thames
  8. Bill + Phill – Tonights The Night We Die  – Songs Of Darkness And Despair
  9. Lo Pan – Pathfinder – In Tensions
  10. Snow Burial – Victory In Ruin – Victory In Ruin

Lo-Pan return with good In Tensions

Lo-Pan‘s fifth release, In Tensions, is a new five-song EP that sees the seasoned Columbus, Ohio unit building on the infectious, riff-filled grooves of their 2014 full-length, Colossus.

Their first release on Brooklyn’s Aqualamb Records (Husbandry, Black Black Black, Godmaker et al), the EP also marks the next stage in the band’s ever-evolving direction — anchored by the lead single “Go West,” of which singer Jeff Martin elaborates:

“It’s about setting out to accomplish a goal and then having that goal change along the way. And ultimately realizing the new goal was better than what you wanted in the first place.” A perfect rallying cry for action in uncertain times, Martin continues, “it’s also about getting out and doing something…. So keep moving forward. Keeping progressing. Keep evolving.”

In Tensions is equal parts modern sludge metal and ‘90s-influenced alt rock. The riffs courtesy of the now former guitarist Adrian Lee Zambrano compliment the tribal influenced drums of Jesse Bartz and grounding bass lines of Skot Thompson.

The EP was recorded in Columbus, Ohio by Joe Viers, with mixings duties split between Jonathan Nunez (Torche, Shitstorm) and Ryan Haft (Wrong, Capsule) in Miami, and mastered in Chicago by Carl Saff (Big Business, Helms Alee, Russian Circles).

The EP will be released on 10-inch vinyl limited to 500 copies and accompanied by a one-hundred-page book featuring artwork by Chris Smith of Grey Aria Design as well tour diaries, flyers, and a complete collection lyrics from the band’s previous releases: Sasquanaut, Salvador, and Colossus.

Preorders are currently available:

Inspired by the lack of album art in the age of invisible music, Brooklyn-based record label Aqualamb publishes one-hundred+ page printed books of artwork and writings as physical accompaniments to its releases. Essentially, each album’s art and liner notes (traditionally confined to an LP gatefold, a CD booklet, or the screen of some music-playing device) are reconfigured into an expanded book form. Each book also includes a download code for the music.

LO-PAN is:
Jeff Martin – vocals
Skot Thompson – bass
Jesse Bartz – drums
Chris Thompson – guitar
Additional Musician:
Adrian Lee Zambrano – guitars on In Tensions

The EP will be featured on Sonic Attack Podcast 193.