Aural Delights 235


  1. Esper Scout – Compass – Compass
  2. Grails – Chalice Hymnal – Chalice Hymnal
  3. Flowers Must Die – Källa Till Ovisshet – Kompost
  4. Gnoomes – In The Park – Tschak!
  5. The Mothers Earth Experiment – Mono No Aware – The Mothers Earth Experiment
  6. Cobra Family Picnic – Draags – Magnetic Anomaly
  7. Sweet Tempest – Colourful Rain – Colourful Rain
  8. The Cult of Dom Keller – Behind All Evil Is A Black Hole – Parasido Is On Fire
  9. Annette Peacock – Real & Defined Androgens – X Dreams
  10. Grails – Rebecca – Chalice Hymnal
  11. Bogshed – Jobless Youngsters – Step On It
  12. Cannonball Statman – Rabbit – Cackles
  13. Elea Calvet – Lust – Lust
  14. Pattern Language – A Pattern Language – Total Squaresville
  15. Phew – New World – Light Sleep
  16. Skin, Flesh & Bones – Slavery Dub – Fighting Dub
  17. The Coathangers – Make It Right – Nosebleed Weekend
  18. Space Museum with Positronik – Save It For Me  (March of the Women Dub) – Universal Fluid
  19. Toska Wilde – Mommie Dearest – Mommie Dearest
  20. Innercity Ensemble – 2- III
  21. Hightown Pirates – Higher Ground – Dry and High
  22. The Mothers Earth Experiment – Talos – The Mothers Earth Experiment
  23. Phew – The Last Song – Our Likeness
  24. Cannonball Statman – ZOB – Cackles
  25. Flowers Must Die – After Gong – Kompost
  26. Pattern Language – Le Choc Des Etoiles – Total Squaresville
  27. Grails – Thorns II – Chalice Hymnal

Magnetic Anomaly

Over the album’s forty-odd minutes, Cobra Family Picnic create a fuzzy, blissed-out haze that touches on an entire encyclopaedia of underground psychedelic: the trance-inducing keys of Suicide, the post-Velvets go-go freakout of Les Rallizes Denudes, the smoky snake-song of early Doors, the pulsating locked grooves of Neu. You get eight mind-fried cuts of cyclical  psychedelic minimalist jams, and when the NASA radio transmissions beam in across the grooves and Randall Demsey’s echo-drenched vocals rend the darkness, you can start to feel your brain being teleported to the outer reaches of the universe (man!) .

Magnetic Anomaly is a Cardinal Fuzz and Sky Lantern record co-production, released on both limited blue/lilac recycled color vinyl and standard black vinyl, as well as in limited single-runs of Sam Giles vinyl-replica CDs and hand-numbered cassette. Members of the band ninclude names from a host of other local Tucson psych ensembles, such as The Desert Beats, The Night Collectors, and Wight Lhite.

The Vinyl version includes an additional track with the download ticket.

High quality trippy psych in the same sonic space as Sun Araw and Moon Duo.

The album will be featured on Aural Delights 235.