Aural Delights 232


  1. Total Victory – Triangulation Point – English Martyrs
  2. Umbrella Assassins – Get Lean – Get Lean
  3. The Moods – Joy – Joy
  4. Captain Black and Friends – The Void Gnashes Its Teeth – The Madman In The Attic
  5. Colour of Spring – Echoes – Echoes
  6. Danny Short – New Build – Form Your Opinion
  7. Sunshine & The Rain – I’m Not Your Girl – In the Darkness of My Night
  8. emonemogaymo – True Life – True Life/Trojan Horse
  9. House Mouse & Space Museum – The Soot Creature – The Soot Creature
  10. Hurtling – Feel It – Brixton HIllbilly Single 2
  11. Mankind – Three handfuls of dirt – Three handfuls of dirt
  12. Kidsmoke – And Mine Alone – Save Your Sorrow
  13. Total Victory – Gore Seer – English Martyrs
  14. Captain Black and Friends – Bad Taste In Boyfriend (feat. Nathalie Haley) – The Madman In The Attic
  15. My Vitriol – Rest Your Tired Head – The Secret Sessions
  16. Danny Short – January – Form Your Opinion
  17. Phew – Signal – Phew
  18. Mosley Bar – Two Apart – Royalties
  19. Sarah Shook & the Disarmers – Nothin’ Feels Right But Doin’ Wrong – Songs from ‘Sidelong’ + More
  20. Total Victory – Playing Golf With The Precariat – English Martyrs
  21. Shaun Kelly – Let’s Go To Rome – Let’s Go To Rome
  22. Singers & Players – Run Them Away – Vacuum Pumping
  23. Mississippi John Hurt – Cow Hooking Blues, No. 2 – Worried Blues
  24. Captain Black and Friends – Don’t Throw It All Away – The Madman In The Attic
  25. Spaceface – Parachute – Sun Kids
  26. Danny Short – Your Opinions – Form Your Opinions
  27. Sunshine & The Rain – Little Rag Doll – In the Darkness of My Night
  28. Dopplereffekt – Gestalt Intelligence – Cellular Automata
  29. Anilore – Sparks Were Real – Dead Love’s Grave
  30. The Pop Group – We Are Time – Y
  31. Total Victory – In The Home Counties – English Martyrs

And Mine Alone

‘And Mine Alone’ is the latest release from Wrexham’s Kidsmoke. It’s one of those indie pop tunes that you cool cats in your Joy Division Oven Gloves shouldn’t really like but it’s so infectious and catchy you won’t able to help yourself. The bass line alone is worth the price of admission, add to that the simple but perfect lead guitar melody, and some rather tasty vocals and you have a bit of a classic.

The second track taken from their new EP out this month, the band’s sound sees them draw from a wide range of influences including a bit of Marr guitar and some scouse vocal harmonising.  Reminded me of The Icicle Works in parts and that’s a big plus in my list of good things.

Produced by Russ Hayes (Orange Sound Recording Studio, Penmaenmawr), it was released on 26th April.

The track will be featured on Aural Delights 232.

Photo credit: Abigail Joan