Sonic Attack 219


  1. INTRCPTR – Nightrider – I
  2. Tau Cross – Raising Golem – Pillar of Fire
  3. Cytotoxin – Radiatus Generis – Gammageddon
  4. Gateway To Hell – Clovers – Clovers
  5. INTRCPTR – Watchmaker – I
  6. Cytotoxin – Dreadzone Outpost – Gammageddon
  7. Tau Cross – Killing The King – Pillar of Fire
  8. Boris – D.O.W.N Domination of Waiting – Dear
  9. One Master – Erosion – Lycanthropic Burrowing
  10. Tau Cross – Seven Wheels- Pillar of Fire
  11. Taurus – Lives Long For Own – No/Thing
  12. Cytotoxin – Sector Zero- Gammageddon
  13. Gateway To Hell – Scorched Earth – Clovers
  14. INTRCPTR – Ruby- I

Pillar Of Fire

TAU CROSS, the multinational punk/heavy metal collective featuring Amebix bassist/frontman Rob “The Baron” Miller, Voivod drummer Michel “Away” Langevin, and members of cult crust outfits Misery and War // Plague, have announced their second full-length album, Pillar Of Fire, due out July 21st on CD, 2xLP, and digital formats via Relapse Records.

Comments TAU CROSS on the new album: “Pillar Of Fire is the continuation of some of the ideas that were explored on our first album. This time we have managed to share the songwriting more equally and introduce some other textures to the songs. This should help to establish TAU CROSS as less of a one-off phenomenon and more of an ongoing musical collective producing our own distinctive sonic environment.”

Pillar Of Fire was recorded across three different countries and co-produced by “The Baron” in the same manner as their eponymous debut. The drums were tracked in Montreal, guitars in Minneapolis, bass in Seattle and Minneapolis, and vocals on the Isle Of Skye in Scotland.

Pillar Of Fire further expands the group’s unique musical approach ranging from dark folk witchery to industrial punk metal brutalism; a moody melting pot of Killing Joke’s metallic post-punk and Motörhead’s anthemic, hard rock with flourishes of traditional instrumentation and an infusion of 16th century English mysticism. Pillar Of Fire is a musical unearthing of TAU CROSS’ philosophical preoccupations: mythological motifs, ultra-terrestrial hypotheses, surreal, social political landscapes, and the endless search for meaning in a controlled universe.

Rob “The Baron” Miller – bass/vocals
Andy Lefton – guitar
Jon Misery – guitar
Michel “Away” Langevin – drums
Tom Radlo – bass
James Adams – keyboards
Tracks from the album will be featured on Sonic Attack 219