Band On The Wall Playlist – March 2017

My monthly look at what’s coming up at Manchester’s finest music venue the Band on the Wall features music from Nat Birchall, Miles Mosley and Neil Cowley.

Nat plays March 2nd and will no doubt be riding the modal waves, Neil plays March 5th – a dazzling composer, pianist Cowley creates deeply engaging and dynamic music that journeys between poetic and poignant, pomp and splendour to powerful rip-roaring riffs. It is instrumental music that references Debussy and Steve Reich as much as Spiritualized and Arcade Fire. Not featured on the show but also playing on March 19th will be Seun Kuti & Egypt 80.

…and you can look forward to Miles Mosley and the West Coast Get Down on June 30th, I thought I’d get your interest by playing a track early on.

In between the finest new jazz releases



  1. Nat Birchall – Divine Harmony – World Without Form
  2. Led Bib – Lobster Terror – Umbrella Weather
  3. CP Unit – Fried – Before The Heat Death
  4. Dans Les Abres – Flourescent – Phosphorescence
  5. Miles Mosley – Young Lion – Uprising
  6. Jean-Brice Godet – No Logo – Lignes de Crêtes
  7. DEK Trio – Raj2 – Burning Below Zero
  8. Gorilla Mask – Iron Lung – Iron Lung
  9. Joana Gama, Luis Fernandes, Ricardo Jacinto – Mémoires en forme de Véxations – Harmonies
  10. Camilla George – Dreams of Eket – Isang
  11. Neil Cowley Trio – Sparkling – Touch and Flee

Band On The Wall Playlist – February 2017

My monthly look at what’s coming up at the Band on the Wall, Manchester’s premiere music venue includes Nat Birchall, Bill Laurence and Jo Harman. In between there is a variety of recently released jazz.

Award-winning Soul and Blues singer-songwriter Jo Harman returns to Band on the Wall on the 23rd to celebrate the worldwide release of her new LP, ‘People We Become’, the follow up to her critically acclaimed 2013 debut ‘Dirt On My Tongue’. Recorded in Nashville, at Sound Emporium and other noted studios with producer Fred Mollin (Billy Joel, Jimmy Webb, Carly Simon, Joe Cocker, Johnny Mathis and many more) the album features Michael McDonald on the first single ‘When We Were Young’ which I got a preview copy of several weeks back.

Bill Laurance is a British pianist and composer. A world-renowned multi instrumentalist, composer and producer dubbed a “jazz maestro” by The Guardian, Bill has released four albums to date as a leader and has travelled across the globe and through a myriad of award-winning musical projects including his quartet, project, duo and as a solo pianist. He begins a UK tour in February in association with the BOTW.

Jazz saxophonist Nat Birchall’s music dares to inhabit the same sacred spaces as the giants of yesteryear. Most of these colossi are long gone, only warriors such as Pharoah Sanders and Billy Harper remain, spreading the divine flame throughout the earth that they still inhabit. But the temples are still here if we choose to enter and search for the truth. Nat belongs to a small group of like-minded musicians who seek to approach the heights of ecstatic music in the same selfless fashion and with the same devotion as the masters did back in the day. Yet this is music very much in the “now”, because the music demands that only this moment is of value, here and right now. Uplifting music that transports the mind and cleanses the soul. Nat plays the BOTW on March 2nd.


  1. Bill Laurence – Aftersun – Aftersun
  2. Camilla George – Mami Wata Returns/Usuro – Isang
  3. Ellery Eskelin, Christian Weber, Michael Griener – Cornelia Street – Sensations of Tone
  4. Jukko Perka Avara – He Left The Road – Invisible Man
  5. Ben Van Gelder – Pause – Among Vertical
  6. Naked Wolf – Wugiwoo – Ahum
  7. Rich Perry – Detour Ahead – Mood
  8. Ronny Graupe – Kappler Drehe – The White Belt
  9. Nat Birchall – Love In The Cosmos – Creation
  10. Lena Circus, Itaru Oki – Love for Sale – Zanshin
  11. Jeff Platz – Duration – Low Light Filter
  12. Morten Schantz – Escape Velocity – Godspeed
  13. Jo Harman – When We Were Young -Single

World of Jazz 216


  1. Camilla George – Ms Baja – Isang
  2. Nigel Price Organ Trio – Blue Genes – Heads & Tales, Volume 2
  3. Ellery Eskelin, Christian Weber, Michael Griener – Orchard and Broom – Sensations Of Tone
  4. Noah Haidu -Soulstep – Slipstream
  5. John Carter – Morning Bell – Night Fire with the John Carter Quintet
  6. Jack Walrath – When Love Has Gone (It Comes Out Like This) – Journey, Man!
  7. Music Revelation Ensemble – Time Table – No Wave
  8. Shannon Jackson and The Decoding Society – Black Widow – Nasty
  9. Camilla George – Song for Reds – Isang

Debut album from Camilla George

Camilla George released her debut album Isang on Ubuntu Music on January 13th. Although this was her first  album as leader the MOBO nominated saxophonist, composer and teacher is already an established musician on the jazz circuit . A graduate from Trinity College of Music, having won the Archer scholarship for outstanding performance, George has studied with many jazz greats including Jean Toussaint, Tony Kofi, Julian Siegel and Martin Speake. Since 2004 she has been working with both Tomorrow’s Warriors and the Nu Civilisation Orchestra and, from 2009, the award winning band, Jazz Jamaica.

“It wasn’t until I joined Courtney Pine’s Venus Warriors and we played our debut gig at The Hideaway that I felt ready to lead my own band. That project inspired me and gave me the confidence I needed to branch out on my own,” George says.

The Camilla George Quartet (CGQ) was formed in 2014 with Sarah Tandy (piano), Daniel Casimir (bass) and Femi Koleoso (drums).

George’s love of fusing African and Western Music is the hallmark of this album– mixing a late 50s post bop cool jazz vibe with African elements and a polished modern sound. Pronounced E-S-A-NG, ‘Isang’ is an old Efik/Ibibio word that means voyage and symbolises the CGQ’s musical journey. The music is varied and impressive from the  blues of the opening track, written to celebrate the West African spirit Mami Wata;  the delicate ballad dedicated to her father in ‘Song For Reds’, the Kenny Garrett composition ‘Ms Baja’ that features her long time friend and collaborator Zara McFarlane and the silky groove of ‘Mami Wata Returns/Usoro’ . The album demonstrates a combination of impressive playing, sympathetic arrangement, and compositions that effectively reflect a variey of  jazz styles in a contemporary setting.

“Isang is an album about a journey of self discovery from my African and Caribbean roots through to jazz in its modern day forms. I was keen to explore different stylistic elements such as highlife, afrobeat, calypso and hip-hop. It’s a project which wouldn’t have been possible if it weren’t for my amazing band whose musicianship is of the highest degree.” Camilla George.

George tour dates to support the release are as follows

22 February – The Lescar, Sheffield
23 February – Matt & Phred’s, Manchester
25 February – Zeffirelli’s, Ambleside
26 February – 7ARTS, Leeds
27 February – Kenilworth Jazz Club
28 February – Royal British Legion, North Wales Jazz
1 March – Dempsey’s, Cardiff
2 March – The Vortex, London
Tracks from the album will be featured on Band on the Wall playlist for February and World of Jazz Podcast 216.