Sonic Attack 196


  1. Nektar – Astronaut’s Nightmare – Space Rock: An Interstellar Traveler’s Guide
  2. Ştiu Nu Ştiu – Aegna Saar – Fake End
  3. Black Army Jacket – Vindictive, Pathogen, Old Habits, The End of Dreams – Closed Casket
  4. Dying Whale – One Final First Kiss – Last Moments Of Misery
  5. Space Debris – Phonomorph – Space Rock: An Interstellar Traveler’s Guide
  6. I Am – Face of Death – Life Through Torment
  7. Dopelord – Reptile Sun – Children of the Haze
  8. Misþyrming – Hof – Hof
  9. Chrome – Eyes In The Centre – Space Rock: An Interstellar Traveler’s Guide
  10. Black Army Jacket – Saccadic Eye Movements, Distance, When I Can’t See You, Are You There?,Of Competing Importance – 222
  11. I Am – Forgive Me – Life Through Torment
  12. Dying Whale – Denial – Last Moments Of Misery

Sonic Attack 195


  1. Beheaded – Beast Incarnate – Beast Incarnate
  2. Uniform (Atlanta) – Euphoric State – Demo 1
  3. Sect – Scourge of Empire – Sect
  4. Istvan – Kenosis – Marijuanaut Vol III
  5. Dying Whale – Way Of Life – Disorder
  6. Sect – Curfew – Sect
  7. Uniform (Atlanta) – Algorithm Man – Demo 1
  8. Circle Jerks – When The Shit Hits The Man – Golden Shower Of Hits
  9. Marlon Brando – Shelter – Marijuanaut Vol III
  10. Sect – Death Dealer – Sect
  11. Uniform (Atlanta) – Drool for You – Demo 1
  12. tomydeepestego – Tetra – Marijuanuat Vol III
  13. Dying Whale – Mindless Scene – Disorder
  14. Uniform (Atlanta) – Evolve to Dust – Demo 1
  15. Beheaded – Cursed Mediterranean – Beast Incarnate
  16. Diana Spencer Grave Explosion – Long Death to the Horizon – Marijuanaut Vol III

Sonic Attack 194


  1. Centralstödet – Yttre Hybriderna – Wudkamrater
  2. Uniform – Tabloid – Wake In Fright
  3. Dying Whale – Apple Seeds/99 – Split 2015
  4. Lamagaia – Aurora – Lamagaia
  5. MoRkObOt – Kromot – Marijuanaut Vol III
  6. Sdang! – Astronomica – Marijuanaut Vol III
  7. Uniform – Bootlicker – Wake In Fright
  8. The Myrrors – Rayuela / Night Flower Codex – Wudkamrater
  9. Dying Whale – Structural Asphyxiation – Disorder

Doom Punk?

Georgia-based hardcore punk outfit Dying Whale  release their Last Moments Of Misery album on 3rd February

The band recorded the album at Earthsound Studios in their hometown of Valdosta, Georgia in February 2015, their fourth time working with engineer/producer Lee Dyess (Mayday Parade, From First to Last, I Set My Friends On Fire) as they feel fully at home in his studio. Following a lineup shift, this is the first of the band’s recordings to feature bassist Matt Zagorski also handling vocals, which mesh with the explosive and multifaceted delivery of guitarist Josh Zorn. Drummer Eli Werth makes his debut with the band, adding an element of urgency to the music that wasn’t fully captured before. With additional vocal contributions from Rich Weinberger (Gatherers), Jeff Hill (Machinist!), Kelby Clark (Divorce Ring), Nannen Gatchell (Smiler), and Victor Skamiera (Fero Lux) spread across the twelve song collection.

Unifying elements of metal, sludge, and hardcore with ferociously raw emotional delivery, the album packs a huge punch. Thematically, the record revolves around the dark periods in our lives, and the idea of not having a place in this world or a home in the afterlife has fueled the storyline. There’s not a neat genre hole you can fit this in – doom punk covers some of it but generally it’s good quality hardcore with a lot of attitude.

Nefarious Industries  release the album in both CD and digital formats.

The album will be featured on Sonic Attack Podcast 196