Aural Delights 237


  1. PrunX – Iron Dream – Vol. III
  2. The Black Watch – Whence – The Gospel According to John
  3. The Cold Stares – John – Head Bent
  4. My Favourite Things – Everything Changes – Fly I Will, Because I Can
  5. The Stevenson Ranch Davidians – Binary Bop – Amerikana
  6. Tricky Lobsters – Bitter Man’s Fame – Worlds Collide
  7. Umbrella Assassins – Dark Horse – Dark Horse
  8. Colour of Spring – Love – Love
  9. Elsiane – The Motive – Death of the Artist
  10. Y Key Operators – What’s Real Anymore? – Single
  11. Hey Colossus – Back In The Room – The Guillotine
  12. Iguana Lovers – Quien (Feat. Loz Colbert) – Surfing Caos
  13. Johann Kloos – Blackpool – Liquid Sunshine
  14. Just Everywhere – Slow Parade – Silk of Stars
  15. PrunX – Sick Of It All – Vol. III
  16. My Favourite Things – Stay A Little While – Fly I Will, Because I Can
  17. The Buttertones – I Ran Away – Gravedigging
  18. Lightnin’ Hopkins – Penitentiary Blues –  Lightnin’ Hopkins
  19. Tricky Lobsters – Dreamdiver Pt I + II -Worlds Collide
  20. Hey Colossus – In A Collision – The Guillotine
  21. My Favourite Things – Sunlight – Fly I Will, Because I Can
  22. The Jackson Code – Poison Berries – Draggin’ The River
  23. The Buttertones – Matador – Gravedigging
  24. The Cornelius Crane – Don’t Blame This Heart Of Mine – Extended Play
  25. Lightnin’ Hopkins – See That My Grave Is Kept Clean – Lightnin’ Hopkins
  26. Iguana Lovers – Moverte – Surfing Caos
  27. The Stevenson Ranch Davidians – OM g – Amerikana
  28. The Cold Stares – Head Bent – Head Bent
  29. PrunX –  Welcome To Your Nightmare – Vol III.
  30. My Favourite Things – Keep Letting Go – Fly I Will, Because I Can
  31. The Jackson Code – ‘Til Our Teeth Got Sore – Draggin’ The River

Fly I Will, Because I Can

Brooklyn-based quartet My Favourite Things have announced the new album ‘Fly I Will, Because I Can’, which is planned for release on July 14, 2017, but are already teasing the first single ‘A Little Closer, loaded with shoegaze and dreampop goodness.
This is the third album from My Favourite Things, founded in Brooklyn by Dorothea Tachler (formerly of Igloo, The Swirlies, Alles Wie Gross). Fans of  dreampop and shoegaze should enjoy the album’s melancholic swaying, melody-rich offerings. This album should also appeal to lovers of artists such as James Yorkston and Bonnie “Prince” Billy.
From a young age, her Korean/German/Croatian background has immersed her in a diversity of musical influences, which have shaped her. In 2009, she released “rarara” (Afterhours/Japan), followed by “Tomorrow’s Far Away” in 2013, featuring guest vocals from several friends and former band-mates, including Valerie Trebeljahr of Lali Puna, Damon Tutunjan from The Swirlies, Daru Oda (Norah Jones), Sean Meadows (June of 4, Lungfish), and Doug Scharin (Codeine, HIM, Rex).
Once again, Dorothea wrote and produced all the songs with their many textures, owing to the use of multiple instruments, many of which she also played: violins, flutes and autoharps weave in and out of twinkling glockenspiels, vibraphones and intricate, sometimes shredding guitars, delivered on a solid bed of a grabbing bass and ripping drums, with Dorothea’s balmy voice hovering and twinkling atop.
When performing live, My Favourite Things appear in different formations, ranging from a solo act to a five-piece band, featuring prominent musicians from the buoyant New York scene: Yoshio “Tony” Kobayashi on drums, Yusuke Yamamoto on vibraphone and synthesizers, Michael Figgiani on bass, and various other talents.
The band has played many venues in the unforgiving NYC music circuit, transporting transfixed audiences from their chaotic built-up urban environments to a twilight world of their own favourite things. Last year, My Favourite Things also toured Germany, featuring Notwist frontman Markus Acher on drums, along with other talented and experienced musicians from Germany’s active band scene.
This album marks a new era for Dorothea, who uses songwriting as a medium to deal with difficult situations that life has dealt her. “This album has made me grow as a songwriter, producer and recording engineer. From a different perspective, this record was like my journal in a difficult time, ridden with a lot of changes: a lot of my friends and family had moved away, my relationship ended, I lost my apartment and had to move, and I became sober, which lead to losing specific social contacts I had until then, who I had thought of as friends – it was all hard, but rewarding in the end to go through this process,” explains Dorothea Tachler.
“Music was my anchor and my lighthouse in stormy and dark nights, and putting my inner turmoil into words really helped me process it better. It was kind of my metamorphosis, being disintegrated like a chrysalis, and being shaped into something new.”
This is an exquisite collection of songs and Tachlers voice is rich and incredibly moreish – to be featured on Aural Delights 237.