Aural Delights 218


  1. Ty Segall – Break A Guitar – Ty Segall
  2. Mott The Hoople – Saturday Gigs – Saturday Gigs
  3. New Model Army – Die Trying – Winter
  4. The Junta – I’m Deranged – I’m Deranged
  5. Royale – Eternal – Eternal
  6. Laughing Clowns – As Your Bridges Burn Behind You – Cruel, But Fair
  7. Boz Hayward – Both Sides – Both Sides
  8. Gil Scott Heron – The Revolution Will Not Be Televised – Pieces of a Man
  9. Severed Heads – We Have Come To Bless This House – City Slab Horror
  10. Suicide – Frankie Teardrop – Suicide
  11. CHBB – Mau Mau –  CH BB
  12. Port Sulphur featuring Davy Henderson & Vic Godard – The Lane – The Lane
  13. Cluster – Sowiewoto – Sowieesoto
  14. Earthern Sea – The Present Mist – An Act of Love
  15. Foygen – America – Hang
  16. Cobalt Chapel – Ava Gardner – Cobalt Chapel
  17. Jon Hassell – Earthquake Island – Eathquake Island
  18. Lawrence English – Hard Rain – Cruel Optimishm
  19. The Prisoners – What I Want – Thewisermiserdemelza: Complete Sessions
  20. Leopold and his Fiction – Only for Me to Find -Ain’t No Surprise
  21. Thieves Like Us – Moon – Thieves Like Us
  22. Lauren Hoffman – Fast Lane – Introducing Lauren Hoffman
  23. Six Organs of Admittance – Things As They Are – Burning The Threshold
  24. El Topo – The Lone Gypsy – The Lone Gypsy
  25. Jah Wobble & Jaki Liebezeit & Philip Jeck – One – Live In Leuven
  26. Brian Eno – Backwater – Before and After Science
  27. Michael Rother – Katzenmusik 7  – Katzenmusik

Aural Delights 217


  1. Johann Kloos – Here In Britain – Here In Britain
  2. Curry Quiche – Lost – Behind The Machine
  3. John The Revelator – Wild Flowers – Wild Flowers
  4. The Nearlys – Write It Down -Meanwhile
  5. Julia Jacklin – Pool Party – Don’t Let The Kids Win
  6. Dear Deer – Snail – Oh My…
  7. Force of Music – Bell Rock – Liberated Dub
  8. Peter 118 – Radio – Radio
  9. DJ Aakmael – Journey (Loscul Remix) – Journey
  10. Johann Kloos – In Japanese – Here In Britain
  11. Curry Quiche – Orramarite – Behind The Machine
  12. Guided By Voices – Nightmare Jamboree – Please Be Honest
  13. New Model Army – Born Feral – Winter
  14. KITB – Breakdown (Michael’s Gone Dark) – Prerelease
  15. Demian Castellanos – Ether – Ether
  16. Tracy Bonham – Devil’s Got Your Boyfriend (Masts Of Manhatta) – Live At Levon Helm’s Studios
  17. The Nearlys – Evil Is The Root Of All Evil – Meanwhile
  18. Joolz Denby and Henning Nugel – Fable – Crow
  19. Curry Quiche – No Career In North Career – Behind The Machine
  20. Johann Kloos – Walking In A Dream – Here In Britain
  21. Helene Greenwood – Dream Horses – Exquisitely Hopeless
  22. Matching Mole – Nan’s True Hole – Smoke Signals
  23. Thieves Like Us – Dani – Thieves Like Us
  24. Tracy Bonham – Tell It To The Sky (Modern Burdens) – Live At Levon Helm’s Studios
  25. Overhead, The Albatross – Daeku – Learning To Growl

Stealing Your Ears

If you name your band after a New Order song several things may well happen to you. You might be badged as Barney wannabees, or you may well be besieged by hordes of rabid New Order fans aiming to draw  some linkage into their complex network of fandom. Or then again you could be a Swedish/American band that writes intelligent, well-crafted pop tunes that sound nothing like N.O. and the association is merely titular.

The latter applies in this case.

So therefore after a four-year hiatus, Thieves Like Us return with their fifth eponymously titled record. They  tracked and produced the new set of tunes in late 2015. The new record reinvents the band’s “cosmic song based aesthetic” with the introduction of live bass (Thomas Franklin) and drums (Tore Knipping), steering its songs into more interesting waters. It’s very good.


Andy Grier’s frail and airy vocals are at the centre of all that happens. Guitarist Chris Wackrow  makes his shoegaze aligned guitar work delicately fill out the rhythmic spaces which meshes with swirling synths, pulsing bass arpeggios and pedal notes and crisp percussion.  Backing singers Martine Duverglas, Mia Von Matt, and Monika Martinez create an orchestral vocal back drop which gives the sound a cinematic feel. The end result is an intricate, accessible pop record and a natural progression of the band’s previous record Bleed Bleed Bleed.

While the new album does feature upbeat light pop movers like Dani and E-Problems, there are also melancholic, introspective and socio-political tunes (Jennifer, Broken Mirror, Israel). Economic peril, over-militarization and technology are serious themes delivered in a contradictory light pop stew.

The  album is released on 7th April 2017 worldwide via Seayou Records/Rough Trade. The artwork depicts a re-enactment of Hans Conrad Schumann’s iconic jump from communist German Democratic Republic to freedom; by a woman wearing the same pilot suit that singer Andy Grier’s father wore in Vietnam.

Music of this ilk can sometimes be precious, saccharine and lack emotional integrity, that’s to say you wouldn’t normally find me sitting through a whole album of the type of material on offer. However this band seem to have been able to extract the best elements of this musical form and create a most enjoyable listening experience.

Album preorder on Amazon:
Album preorder on iTunes: