World of Jazz 295

  1. Julian Arguelles – Alala – Tonados
  2. Louis Sclavis – Napoli’s Walls
  3. Music Revelation Ensemble – Maya – After Dark
  4. Emanuele Maniscalco, Francesco Bigoni,Mark Solborg – Foil – Foil
  5. Rich Halley 3 – Misterioso – The Literature
  6. Shelter – F 1 – Shelter
  7. Tomasz Licak Radek Wosko Quartet – East River — Entrails United
  8. Tomasz Stanko – April Story – Wislawa
  9. Tomasz Stanko – Wislawa – Wislawa
  10. Pascal Niggenkemper – Penser à Vous – Pasàpas
  11. Wojciech Jachna, Jacek Mazurkiewicz, Jacek Buhl – Galapogas – God’s Body
  12. Daniel Rosenboom – Astral Transference – Astral Transference: Seven Dreams

Julian Arguelles – Alala – Tonados

Saxophonist supremo Julian Argüelles previously worked with the inventive pianist Ivo Neame on Escape Hatch’s Roots Of Unity (Whirlwind, 2016) and with bassist Sam Lasserson and drummer James Maddren on his album Tetra (Whirlwind 2015). With over a dozen albums recorded as leader, and with his essential contribution as a member of   Loose Tubes, his talent is there for all to see . If that curriculum vitae wasn’t enough, he’s also recorded or worked with the likes of Carla Bley, Dave Holland, John Taylor, Django Bates, Kenny Wheeler and Mike Gibbs. Recently, he collaborated, again with Neame, as arranger, conductor and soloing on one number on the Phronesis big band album The Behemoth (Edition 2017).

Personnel: Julian Argüelles: tenor and soprano saxophones, percussion; Ivo Neame: piano; Sam Lasserson: double bass; James Maddren: drums, percussion.

Year Released: 2018 | Record Label: Edition Records

Louis Sclavis – Napoli’s Walls – Napoli’s Walls

an investigation of the paintings of the French artist Ernest Pignon-Ernest on Napoli’s Walls.

VINCENT COURTOIS cello, electronics
MÉDÉRIC COLLIGNON trumpet, pocket trumpet, voice, horn, percussion, electronics
LOUIS SCLAVIS clarinet, bass clarinet, soprano and baritone saxophones

Recorded December 2002 at Studios La Buissonne, Pernes les Fontaines
ECM Records. ECM 1987 038 504-2
Music Revelation Ensemble – Maya – After Dark

DAVID MURRAY tenor saxophone
AMIL ALI electric bass
Recorded at Power Station, NYC on October 9 & 10, 1991
DIW Records DIW-855 Japan

Emanuele Maniscalco, Francesco Bigoni, Mark Solborg – Foil – Foil

Contemporary chamber music with room to explore musical poetics enhanced or emphasized by contrasting motions – much like the beautiful analogue three-dimensional ceiling of the Ridotto on the front cover. The Copenhagen-based trio of….

Emanuele Maniscalco piano
Francesco Bigoni tenor saxophone, clarinet
Mark Solborg guitar

2018 ILK Music ILK281

Rich Halley 3 – Misterioso – The Literature

Rich Halley tenor saxophone, clapping
Clyde Reed bass
Carson Halley drums

2018 Pine Eagle Records

Shelter – F 1 – Shelter

a new project from saxophonist Ken Vandermark, with Nate Wooley on trumpet,   bassist Jasper Stadhouders and  drummer Steve Heather

Audiographics 2017

Tomasz Licak Radek Wosko Quartet – East River — Entrails United

Recorded November 25-26, 2013 in RecPublica Studio Lubrza, Poland

Tomasz Licak saxophone
Carl Winther piano
Martin Buhl bass
Radek Wosko drums

2014 RecArt 0012

Tomasz Stanko – April Story – Wislawa
Tomasz Stanko – Wislawa – Wislawa

Recorded June 2012 at Avatar Studios, New York

Tomasz Stanko trumpet
David Virelles piano
Thomas Morgan bass
Gerald Cleaver drums

Doble CD

2013 ECM 2304/05

Like his early hero Miles Davis, Polish trumpeter Tomasz Stanko has a gift for shaping great bands, and this one, formed in the world’s jazz capital, overflows with promise. The bass and drums team of Thomas Morgan and Gerald Cleaver is one of the most sensitive in contemporary improvising, and Cuban-born pianist David Virelles, inspired by ritual music as well as by Thelonious Monk and Andrew Hill, seems particularly well-attuned to the brooding darkness and sophisticated dread of Stanko’s free ballads. In the uptempo pieces all four players seem to enter new territory, with very exciting results. The double-album programme of new Stanko compositions is inspired also by the poetry of Wislawa Symborska, the Polish poet, essayist and Nobel Laureate, who died in 2012. As Stanko writes in the CD booklet, “Reading Wislawa Szymborska’s words gave me many ideas and insights. Meeting her and interacting with her poetry also gave impetus to this music, which I would like to dedicate, respectfully, to her memory.”

Pascal Niggenkemper Trio – Penser à Vous – Pasàpas

Described by the New York City Jazz Records as “one of the most adventurous bassists on the scene” and by the Chicago Reader “genius for sound exploration” Franco-German bassist and composer Pascal Niggenkemper creates music which blurs the lines between improvised, pure sound, and experimental music with a distinct musical language infused with new bass techniques.

While essentially a jazz album, Pasàpas, explores various musical landscape  presenting a nicely diverse lineup of original tunes.  Tyshawn Sorey provides his usual alchemy on drums with sophisticated and complex rhythms. On ballads like this one, Robin Verheyen’s tenor is ruminative and melodic, whether he’s complementing Sorey’s cymbal caresses.

Recorded May 17, 2007 at Mountain Rest Studio New Palz, NY

Pascal Niggenkemper bass
Robin Verheyen saxophone
Tyshawn Sorey drums

2008 Konnex KCD 5214

Wojciech Jachna, Jacek Mazurkiewicz, Jacek Buhl – Galapogas – God’s Body

Recorded at Fabryka Sztuki, Lódz, June 16, 2017

Wojciech Jachna trumpet, electronics
Jacek Mazurkiewicz contrabass
Jacek Buhl drums

2018 Audio Cave ACD-006
Daniel Rosenboom – Astral Transference – Astral Transference: Seven Dreams

Daniel Rosenboom trumpet
Artyom Manukyan cello
Joshua White piano
Richard Giddens bass
Gene Coye drums
Gavin Templeton alto sax (1)
Jon Armstrong tenor sax (1)
Alexander Noice guitar (1)

L.A. trumpeter Daniel Rosenboom seems to gravitate towards music that challenges on multiple levels, and his latest recording Astral Transference/ Seven Dreams, a sprawling, two-disc transcription of a live concert at the Blue Whale is nothing if not wildly ambitious.

“Astral Transference,” is the single composition that takes up the entirety of Disc One. It opens with Rosenboom alone, dancing around with open-horn textures, before being joined by seven of his favorite players including Artyom Manukyan on cello, Joshua White on piano, Richard Giddens on bass, Gene Coye on drums, Gavin Templeton and Jon Armstrong on reeds, and Alexander Noice on guitar.

It’s a fascinating blend and blur of the notated versus the improvised, and the constant shifting keeps the listener’s interest at a peak level.

2015 Orenda Records 0014


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.