World of Jazz 282

  • Tony Koch and the AltNews Band – Uber Chill – Uber Chill
  • Marc Copland – Softly As In Morning Sunrise – Softly
  • Bill Dixon – Thoughts – Thoughts
  • Hamiet Bluiett – EBU – Bearer of The Holy Flame
  • Ornette Coleman – The Blessing – Something Else
  • Tony Koch and the AltNews Band – Down By The Bay – Uber Chill
  • Nina Simone – I Put A Spell On You – I Put A Spell On You
  • Andrew Hill – Symmetry – Andrew
  • Andrew Hill – Calliope – Pax
  • Andrew Hill – Remnants – Blue Black
  • Andrew Hill – Hope – Change
  • Andrew Hill – Mother Mercy – Lift Every Voice
  • Marilyn Crispell & Gerry Hemingway – Rotations – Duo
  • Elephant9 – Walk The Nile – Walk The Nile
  • Emmet Cohen featuring Ron Carter & Evan Sherman – Any Old Time – Masters Legacy Series Volume 2
  • Tony Koch and the AltNews Band – Autumn Tango – Uber Chill

Uber Chill

Tony Koch – Canadian guitarist 2017 release is this weeks featured album. The AltNews Band brings together elements of neo bop, nu jazz, chill and Latin music with unexpected instrumental solos, richly layered synth sounds, hip rhythms and bluesy, funky guitar hooks. Started by guitarist, composer and jazz visionary Tony Koch (Kosh, rhymes with “posh”), the quintet is filled out by producer, engineer and bass player Miles Hill, drummer Bobby Ruggiero, saxophonist Campbell Ryga and renowned Vancouver multi-instrumentalist Miles Black

Softly As In Morning Sunrise

1998 release on Savoy Jazz, Copland’s excellent trio (with bassist Gary Peacock and drummer Bill Stewart) is joined by the  two superstar saxophonists, Michael Brecker and Joe Lovano, as well as then up-and-coming trumpeter Tim Hagans. With a faster than usual take on Oscar Hammerstein’s tune which has become a jazz classic.


A 1985 Soul Note release with unique trumpeter Bill Dixon who often emphasizes silence over sound and feelings over phrases and has always had a strong liking for lower-toned instruments. On this album Dixon, doubling on piano, is joined by altoist Marco Eneidi, John Buckingham on tuba, drummer Lawrence Cook and three bassists – Peter Kowald, William Parker and Mario Pavone.


Bearer of the Holy Flame is  1983 album on the Black Fire Label. A great set from Hamiet Bluiett – almost back to his roots in the St Louis underground scene, as the album’s a live recording of long spiritual jazz tracks, arguably a lot more compelling than most of Bluiett’s studio work from the time! The album was recorded at Sweet Basil in 1983 – with a group that features John Hicks on piano, Fred Hopkins on bass, Marvin Smitty Smith on drums, and Chief Bey playing some extra African percussion. Bluiett’s tone is wonderful – deep and round, but also raspy, almost in the manner of Pharoah Sanders – and the group plays an incredible version of Wayne Shorter’s “Footprints”, the featured tracks is a Bluiett composition.

The Blessing

From  the 1958 debut album by Ornette Coleman – Something Else!!.  An album which turned the jazz world on its head, revitalizing the union of blues and jazz and restoring “blues to their ‘classic’ beginnings in African music”. It is unusual in Coleman’s work in that it features a conventional bebop quintet instrumentation (saxophone, cornet, piano, bass and drums); after this album, Coleman would rarely use the piano, creating a starker and more fluid sound. A Contemporary records release with Ornette Coleman – alto saxophone ; Don Cherry – cornet ; Walter Norris – piano; Don Payne – double bass
and Billy Higgins – drums.

Down By The Bay

From the featured album

I Put A Spell On You

From a studio album by Nina Simone. Recorded in 1964 and 1965 in New York City, it was released by Philips Records in 1965. Jalacy Hawkins tune gets a great reading from Nina on an album which was described as one of her most pop-oriented releases.


Jazz critic John Fordham described Hill as a “uniquely gifted composer, pianist and educator” although “his status remained largely inside knowledge in the jazz world for most of his career.” His best known work was recorded for Blue Note Records, spanning nearly a decade and a dozen albums that featured his cerebral interpretation of post-bop, often described as avant-garde but uniquely Hill’s own style that shared little in common with free jazz of the 1960s.

Symmetry – Andrew!!! – 1964

with – John Gilmore – tenor saxophone, Bobby Hutcherson – vibraphone, Richard Davis – double-bass, Joe Chambers – drums

Calliope – Pax – 1965

Recorded in 1965 but not released on the Blue Note label until 1975 as part of a compilation album One for One.

with – Freddie Hubbard – cornet , Joe Henderson – tenor saxophone, Richard Davis – bass
Joe Chambers – drums

Remnants – Blue Black -1975

Released on the Japanese East Wind label.

with Jimmy Vass –  alto saxophone , Chris White – bass, Leroy Williams – drums

Hope – Change – 1966

The album was originally scheduled for issue in 1967 but was held back from release until 1975, when the tracks appeared under Sam Rivers’ name, as part of the double LP set Involution, which combined them with tracks recorded under Rivers’ leadership which would eventually see release as Dimensions & Extensions. The first release under Hill’s name occurred in 1995 as part of the Mosaic box set The Complete Blue Note Andrew Hill Sessions (1963-66).

with Sam Rivers – tenor saxophone, Walter Booker – bass, J. C. Moses – drums

Mother Mercy – Lift Every Voice -1969

The original album features Hill with a choir performing five new compositions. The 2001 CD reissue added six additional tracks recorded in 1970.

with Woody Shaw – trumpet, Carlos Garnett – tenor saxophone, Richard Davis – bass
Freddie Waits – drums,  and Joan Johnson, LaReine LaMar, Gail Nelson, Antenett Goodman Ray – vocals with Lawrence Marshall – vocals, conductor.


From a 1992 release on the Knitting Factory label. Marilyn Crispell – piano
Gerry Hemingway – drums. Crispell taking the bones of the Cecil Taylor method and taking it somewhere new.  Hemingway is the perfect partner on a remarkable album.

Walk The Nile

From Elephant9’s second album on Rune Grammafon released in 2010.  Ståle Storløkken – keyboard, Nikolai Eilertsen – bass, and Torstein Lofthus – drums.

Any Old Time

A Cellar Live release Masters Legacy Series Vol 2 with Emmet Cohen – piano, Ron Carter – bass, Evan Sherman – drums. Released November, 2017. Recorded at Live @ Pyatt Hall in Vancouver, BC, Canada on June 29th, 2017

Autumn Tango

From the featured album

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.