Band On The Wall Playlist – January 2017

My monthly look into what is coming for jazz lovers at Manchester’s prestigious Band On The Wall Venue. For January 2017 I am highlighting two gigs. In between new and recent releases from across the world of jazz.


  1. Dinosaur – Robin – Together, As One
  2. Ivo Perelman, Mat Maneri, Joe Morris, Gerald Cleaver – Harsh Moon – Breaking Point
  3. Will Goble – Another Man Done Gone – Consider The Blues
  4. Daniel Rorke, Aksel Jensen, Ole Mofjell – Milk Boy – The Dark
  5. John Butcher, Thomas Lehn, Matthew Shipp – Cluster I – Tangle
  6. Illogical Harmonies – Part II – Volume
  7. Mike Melito – If I Would Ever Leave You – New York Connections
  8. Jerome Sabbagh, Simon Jermyn, Allison Miller – Lean – Lean
  9. Organik Vibe Trio – Ecaroh – Things We Did Last Summer
  10. Magnus Öström – Parachute – Parachute
  11. Andrew Cyrille & Bill McHenry – Bedouin Woman – Proximity

Thursday 19th January : Laura Jurd’s Dinosaur

Dinosaur is one of the most vital and creative new ensembles in the UK today, led by trumpeter and composer Laura Jurd and featuring keyboardist Elliot Galvin and the young rhythm section of Conor Chaplin & Corrie Dick. They have performed throughout the UK and Europe including dates at the Berlin Jazz Festival, Jazz Sur Son 31 in Toulouse, 12 Points in Dublin and Jazzahead in Bremen.

In early 2016, Jurd signed an exclusive album deal with the hugely influential Edition Records for the release of Dinosaur’s debut album ‘Together, As One’, released in September 2016. Blending elements of folk, jazz and rock, their sound is formidable and compelling.

Sunday 29th January : Magnus Öström

A member of seminal contemporary jazz outfit Esbjörn Svensson Trio (e.s.t.), drummer Magnus Öström returns to Band on the Wall to perform work from his new LP ‘Parachute’. Since the tragic demise of e.s.t, Öström’s solo career has been a fruitful one with two solo albums released in Europe and Japan. His debut solo LP, ‘Thread Of Life’ was nominated for a Swedish Grammis and earned him an Echo Jazz Award in Germany.

The new album features the same band members as the two previous albums: Andreas Hourdakis, guitars; Thobias Gabrielson, bass & keys; Daniel Karlsson, piano & keys, and sees Öström return to the Diesel Music label where his career got started with e.s.t 20 years ago.

Although Magnus’s solo career has been successful, the loss of Esbjörn Svensson in 2008 has been devastating and it is music that has helped him overcome some very dark times.

With e.s.t, Öström helped redefine the classic piano trio format, introducing a modern aesthetic with electronic textures and rhythms taken from dance music. Their sound has gone on to inspire countless contemporary jazz groups including the likes of Gogo Penguin and Phronesis.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.